Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Looking for critique - especially on first betting round

Old
Looking for critique - especially on first betting round - Thu Oct 25, 2012, 07:09 PM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2012
As it says in the title, I'm just getting started, not sure if I played tight-aggressive properly here.

Thanks!

Old
Thu Oct 25, 2012, 07:36 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
BronzeStar
My first thought is that the pre flop should have gotten rid of 5-3 offsuit. For whatever reason, he raised and reraised. I'm thinking there was nothing you could have done in the initial round to eliminate that player. He was calling, regardless.

He hit. You missed. Part of the game. Your only consolation is that he played the hand wrong. He hit a great flop, giving him the open ended straight. The turn gave him the hand.

Just out of curiousity, did you happen to see him play earlier? If you saw him as a calling station, you made the right play if you were trying to max the chips. You made the wrong play if you were trying to get him out of the hand. Yeah, it's a matter of perspective.

I would have gone all-in on him too, if that's any consolation.

Old
Thu Oct 25, 2012, 09:13 PM
(#3)
Since: Jul 2010
looked good to me, maybe shove the flop and pray. the small flop bet was silly

Old
Thu Oct 25, 2012, 10:23 PM
(#4)
Since: Sep 2010
BronzeStar
The way I see it, even after the turn, I couldn't have folded, because it gave me a nut flush draw.

Make a note on him, and call it "donkey", "fish", or "maniac", with a ? beside it, next time you face him, you can fill in the note a bit better.

Old
Thu Oct 25, 2012, 10:28 PM
(#5)
Since: Sep 2010
BronzeStar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingkong263 View Post
looked good to me, maybe shove the flop and pray. the small flop bet was silly

I think he should have been pushing more on every bet round, but that's me. let too many in, and your odds with AA deplete.

Old
Fri Oct 26, 2012, 06:46 AM
(#6)