Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Later stages of tournaments

Old
Later stages of tournaments - Sun Nov 11, 2012, 05:29 PM
(#1)
Since: May 2012
BronzeStar
Hello everyone,
I've been playing poker on/offline for 3 years.. I'm still only at the tender age of 21 and learnt a vast amount of poker due to this amazing website that has helped my game in so many ways I could not describe.

My question is i'm only a MTT player.. play buy-ins mostly 4$-20$ and sometimes a little bit more of a buy-in which for me comes in at a bigger risk.

Most of the time I can place really well most winnings is $500 personally in a 4th place $8k guaranteed prize pool, but with most of the other tournaments I can place well in the money but not as well as I think my ability could place me.
Mostly for me its regards with blinds and antes, the latter stages of tournaments blind increases becoming dramatic and for me fear can be involved obviously loosing my blinds with hands I'd usually play with but being over bet by a bully.
The reason I seem to fear is because of the big jumps in prize money especially from 20th to the final table.

Moral of the story is, in latter stages of tournaments is there any way to conquer your demons until you make that big money, because 90% of the time i'll buckle under the pressure and blinds, antes just eat my stack away..

Thank you in advance,
Aaron.

Old
Sun Nov 11, 2012, 05:37 PM
(#2)
Since: Feb 2011
In the money I'm always aware of my own blinds and others. I rarely call all in but I do push them. Like it or hate it, coinflips are a MTT players life or death and can mean winning top prize or finishing last.

Get your chips in when you feel your in front. Never - or rarely call and push, push, push.

Old
Sun Nov 11, 2012, 07:12 PM
(#3)
Since: Jul 2010
Hi Aaron,

Welcome to PokerSchoolOnline!

Please check out what the site has to offer >HERE<.