Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

5c/10c KK

Old
5c/10c KK - Wed Jan 02, 2013, 12:28 AM
(#1)
Since: Aug 2011
i am fairly new to cash games,i have had a bit of a go on the capped tables before,but not so much the no limit(uncapped) tables, just want to ask am i playing a hand like this to conservatively,should i be aiming for more value,or am i just going to scare off an opponent with larger betting

Old
Wed Jan 02, 2013, 08:25 AM
(#2)
Since: Oct 2011
I'd prefer a 4-bet pre to make it easier to get stacks in post-flop.
Slowplaying the dry flop by flatting the donkbet is fine, as you have the deck crippled, but bet bigger on the turn and river.
Not only will you get more value when villain has a hand, but you won't be revealing the strength of your hand by betting standard amounts of 50-70% of pot. (If I was at this table, I'd make a note on you that said "bets small with monsters".)

Old
Wed Jan 02, 2013, 08:52 AM
(#3)
Since: Aug 2010
I don't have a problem with the 3 bet pre-flop, and I don't think another 30c is going to help get his/her money in the pot post flop.

What I do is find an effective raise that narrows but doesn't eliminate your opponents. This can change from table to table but generally I use the 3 bet as a standard open bet... no matter the hand. Every hand I'm willing to open with gets the same open bet. This actually will hide the strength of our hand for they will not know if you are on the bottom or top of your range.

Post flop I would have raised them, not too much so no 3x over him but a simple raise as to tease him into re-raising over you. It's the little battles like this that will get your opponent all-in more often than not.

Old
Thu Jan 03, 2013, 02:36 AM
(#4)
Since: Jun 2011
(Live Trainer)
Hi milehigh, welcome to the hand analysis forums and welcome to 6-max cashgames - they are beatiful imo