Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Regular SNG vs Fifty50

Old
Regular SNG vs Fifty50 - Mon Jan 07, 2013, 09:20 PM
(#1)
Since: Dec 2011
Hey guys.

Been playing alot of fifty50s recently with mild success.

I was wondering between a regular SNG and the fifty50's is there a difference in profitability?

Or are they about the same other then maybe the fifty50s have less variance?

Cause i find that even if i come out a small winner in 2/3 games losing the 1/3 still puts me back at about even. I dunno. Just wondering.

Old
Tue Jan 08, 2013, 01:12 AM
(#2)
Since: Aug 2010
I'm no expert for sure as Stars went to 50/50's not long before US players got the boot,but in the time I did have I played 150 of the $1.11 50/50's ($1.50 being the lowest buy-in now of course...) and ran just below 73% ITM (109/150) for a +14.6% ROI.

I'll be 100% honest here,I DO think through study and poker discussions and other training that my game is better than it was when Americans were excluded,but I highly doubt I could improve on those numbers. I just think that 50/50's,bt their nature,cap themselves at a certain level of profitability. Well all games do I guess,but these have a more standard ceiling than some others would be my hunch.

Not at all familiar enough with the standard STT's but as for the 50/50's I'll say that in my experience and from what I've seen and heard from others 2/3's,or 67% if you prefer,ITM% is going to be break even at best,probably slightly underwater. I think over a large sample you'll need to run at 70% to break even and above to make any profit and it will be incremental.

But that seems to be the crack with STT's,standard or 50/50's...that you won't hang up a big +ROI on them,but if you find a game you can beat you can typically grind it out in a steady,less variance turbulent fashion.

Old
Tue Jan 08, 2013, 09:57 PM
(#3)
Since: Dec 2011
Thanks for the response