Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

10NL Zoom 6max, Can you fold KK preflop 100BB deep?

Old
10NL Zoom 6max, Can you fold KK preflop 100BB deep? - Fri Feb 08, 2013, 01:47 PM
(#1)
Since: Nov 2012
Hi everybody,

The question I have been asking myself ever since I started playing poker a bit more seriously. Can I ever fold kings preflop? Since I am losing on average almost 1 full buy in a day KK vs AA preflop finding a way to fold KK at least some of the time I am up against AA would be very nice. So here I am folding KK preflop for the first time in my life. However, in retrospect I am not sure if I like it that much. We were only 100BB deep and it was button vs blind but his 4b sizing and 6b jam made me feel sick to my stomach. Can you ever make this fold against an unknown 4 tabling regular or did I just burn $4? I do not know if regulars at 10NL can show up there with anything but KK or AA in which case it is 6:1 for AA.

Have you ever folded KK preflop in a cash game? What would have to happen for you to even consider doing it?

Cheers

Tommy

Old
Fri Feb 08, 2013, 05:12 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Head Trainer)
Hi Tommy,

While I have folded KK preflop on rare occassion, never have I done so on 100 bb effective stacks after 5-betting. We put too much money in the middle to fold now, he would basically have to show us the aces to make folding correct, and I don't think this action shows us that reliably in a button v blind raising war. If he sometimes has QQ or AK it's a disaster to 5-bet fold KK even though on some individual trials we get away from aces. Any other worse hands (JJ, TT, a random spazz) only make it better for us.