Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

5NL zoom thin value bet

Old
5NL zoom thin value bet - Thu Feb 21, 2013, 05:59 PM
(#1)
Since: Jan 2011
Hi,

Its zoom so no player info.

I'm just learning about thin value betting and would like to know your opinions on this hand. My reasoning for betting here is that I believe there are more worse aces he could have and call me with than there are hands that have me beat, I don't think he has a 3 all too often here compared to where he has a worse Ace. Is this sound reasoning? Was this a good bet or shold I have just called?

Cheers

Old
Thu Feb 21, 2013, 09:08 PM
(#2)
Since: Feb 2011
Hi cattons,

I feel that your opening kind of loose, and that makes it dificult to play the hand . The cbet on the flop is very high, i think it makes dificult to playeres to stick with worse hands. Once he calls, i put him a lot of times on a better ace ,and maybe a flush draw or some pocket pair that doesnt believe you, but these last i think are less, and very little times on a 3.
The nine feels like a good card, cause now we are beating better aces that may call us down two streets. But when the 10 comes and he fires, id feel really uncomfortable, being that hes been very passive; im inclined to think that hes better than AK or AQ; and i dont think raising is the better option, just fold or call.

I like better when the post doesnt show the villains card, i think it makes the opinions more objective.

Good luck

Old
Thu Feb 21, 2013, 09:23 PM
(#3)
Since: Feb 2011
BronzeStar
I think it is a bad shove on the river. The main reason for this is because I am unable to think of many worse hands that would call. Maybe AK. If he had AK he might worry a hand like AQ or AJ shuts down on river, causing him to decide to bet out. That is about it though, everything else folds to your shove or calls and beats you.