Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Dan Harringtons books

Old
Dan Harringtons books - Fri Feb 22, 2013, 09:21 PM
(#1)
Since: Dec 2012
BronzeStar
Ive been playing poker for about 3 or 4 months now, i play mostly cash games but play at the local tavern in a tourney style a couple of nights a week. Ive read some reviews on dan harringtons books, but im not sure which to read first. Alot of reviews say that his books on tourney play are more in depth and are generally just a better book for evolving your thinking at the table. But obviously the cash game books seem more practical as i want to mostly play cash game for now. Im a beginner so i think both books would help my game. My question is has anybody read both of these books? And can give advice on to which is better for to to read first?

Old
Fri Feb 22, 2013, 09:49 PM
(#2)
Since: Feb 2011
BronzeStar
I have not read any of the tournament books, but 'Harrington on Online Cash Games; 6-Max No-Limit Hold 'em' is a very solid book for 6max online (micro-low stakes). If the quality of this book is any indication of the quality of his other books, then your should be making a good investment buying any of them.

The book I mentioned may not be the best book to start out with though. The best poker investment I ever made was buying 'No-Limit Holdem Theory And Practice'. I think it may be a better place to begin reading (for cash games).

You should also check out the PSO 'Single Table Tourneys' class. It is amazing and free. Will help a lot with those small local tournaments.

Old
Fri Feb 22, 2013, 10:35 PM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Hi chucklez001!

I'm about 1/2 way thru the 3 book tournament series (Harrington on Hold Em)and they have been a good read so far.

Another two book series for torunaments that I'd recommend is Winning Poker Tournaments One Hand At A Time.