Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

Rookie read on flush on flop and further

Old
Rookie read on flush on flop and further - Thu Mar 28, 2013, 04:38 AM
(#1)
Since: Mar 2013

Hi guys. I am new to PokerStars and this is my first post on the hand analyzer therefore I am sorry for any mistakes or deviation from forum rules. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Here I was with a nice strong hand JJ in UTG2. Raised , all folded except SB on which , I admit , I had no idea what his image was. Damn flush comes on flop and I raise for information. He checks. That hints me that he doesn't have the flush. 5c comes and he bets. I figure he got to pairs now with AA 55, so I call. 6h comes and he shoves. I think this was my mistake to call to him.

How would any1 have handled it otherwise?

Old
Thu Mar 28, 2013, 08:23 AM
(#2)
Since: Jan 2013
Standard opening from middle position, fine. Flop of all clubs, usually i'm betting out for 60-100% of the pot here, charging maximum from hands with one club and getting folds out of the no club hands.
When he calls it's pretty safe to assume he has at least one club.

Donk bet on the turn by villain is very strong. What does that say to you? Seems to me like he's got a made hand and doesn't want to let you go check-check and improve on the river for free. At a guess I'd say the guy has a weak flush right now. I'd probably be calling the turn hoping that the board pairs and folding to a river shove.

Old
Thu Mar 28, 2013, 11:57 AM
(#3)
Since: Jul 2010
Hi 3k3r,

Welcome to the PokerSchoolOnline forum. To help you out getting yourself acquainted to the site, click >HERE< to find out what we have to offer.

A hand analyzer will be by shortly to discuss your hand.

Good luck at the tables!

iggyo

Follow me on Twitter

Old
Thu Mar 28, 2013, 09:43 PM
(#4)
Since: Oct 2011
Hi 3k3r!