Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

NL2 FR: JJ, luck, or am I playing wrong?

Old
NL2 FR: JJ, luck, or am I playing wrong? - Sun Apr 07, 2013, 10:57 PM
(#1)
Since: Apr 2013

Villian was unknown.

I'm basically brand new to competitive poker, I've gotten through the basics and the Cash Games sections of the poker school.

I'm just lost as to if I was playing this right, however I've been pretty frustrated lately so I might just be telling myself I was and just had bad luck.

Old
Mon Apr 08, 2013, 12:53 AM
(#2)
Since: Jan 2013
Hi NfinITE, welcome to PSO!

Nothing wrong with how you played the hand there. People who play with <20BB behind them in cash games are usually either complete noobs or someone who's just lost a big pot and on tilt. Most regs will auto-reload. With that in mind I'd be more than happy to straight up shove the last 11BB over a 6BB raise with pocket jacks as the villain will be raising (and likely calling) with a pretty wide range here.

You ended up putting your chips in as a favourite (about a 60-40 in this case) to win which is what's important for winning play in cash games. You just need to play enough hands to make up for bad beats and you'll be raking in cash.

If you try out zoom tables or against a bigger stack I wouldn't be calling a shove with pocket jacks a lot of the time unless I had info that the villain was loose because in general people do play pretty tight but in that situation it was fine.

Hope some of that helped

Old
Mon Apr 08, 2013, 01:31 AM
(#3)
Since: Mar 2012
Hello

This guy was sitting at 34c, he would probably shove all in with any two cards JT+ or any random pocket pair. Also you were the favorite as mimesis.is said, so even if his cards were face up you made the right move .