Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Having trouble applying information

Old
Having trouble applying information - Sun Apr 07, 2013, 11:15 PM
(#1)
Since: Apr 2013
I've done a fair amount of reading and completing the lessons that pokerschool offers, and I feel like my play has improved drastically from what it was when I started learning about competitive poker, however I find that I still don't know what I'm supposed to be doing 3 quarters of the time.

I've played about 400 hands in the last couple days on 1c/2c NLH cash games, and I've been playing about 10-15% of the hands, but I find that the ones that I choose to play (usually monster or very good) everyone will end up folding on my 5BB raise (10c) which I'll generally do all the time.

When people do play the hands out I'll very rarely win them, but it won't be a loss at the flop or to a straight or a flush (because I'll fold if the board indicates that possibility) but usually to something like 3 of a kind from a pocket pair or 1 or 2 pairs with a rank or two higher then mine.

Obviously I'm making a fair amount of mistakes, but I get the feeling my play is probably WAY worse then I think it is because I'm down 4 dollars in 400ish hands and I've been playing tight-aggressive (or at least my understanding of it) almost the entire time.

I'm just wondering if there's a place to play or a way to have my table play assessed outside of the hand analysis (which I'm already using).

Thanks,
NfinITE55

EDIT: I guess I missed the point that I had with the title...

It feels like I'm not applying the information in the lessons properly, as my results are telling me.

Last edited by NfinITE55; Sun Apr 07, 2013 at 11:19 PM..

Old
Mon Apr 08, 2013, 01:33 AM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010