Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

FR Zoom Approach: Keep it Simple, Keep it Safe

Old
FR Zoom Approach: Keep it Simple, Keep it Safe - Mon Apr 08, 2013, 07:28 AM
(#1)
Since: Jan 2012
Most of this material is taken from my March Update Blog.

I play 25NL Zoom and have been profitable all year. I have had several questions about my stats and style, and wanted to share the basics of my approach. I am no expert and am fairly new to cash tabling. As a result, I tend to play very safe. I prefer a low risk approach the focuses on minimizing my losses. The profit seems to take care of itself.

I have used this style at 2NL up through 50NL and it seems to work. Pretty much everything I know about cash gaming has been learned the last 6 months through playing, reviewing and ,most importantly, taking to heart everything that the real experts here at PSO have taught me. In particular, Dave has mentored me the whole time and Gareth has been an inpiration showing me what can be achieved. There are some great players and great teachers here!

The stats tell most of the story. So, here are my March numbers for 25NL FR Zoom.

When usure, fold!
The better I become at postflop play, the wider an opening range I am using preflop. When I first started Zooming I was a Rock playing about 10% of my hands. I slowly opened my range becoming ABC playing about 12%. Now, I am verging on being a TAG player playing about 14%. Regardless, I still stick to my same basic principles.

Roland's Zoom approach
I look for spots that offer a clear line, rather than simply a theoretical +ev spot.

For example, let’s say I’m in the big blind. It folds around to a reg who raises from the btn and a weaker player calls from the sb. I will fold a hand such as A9o. I may well have the best hand preflop, but I find A9o very difficult to play post flop with such a weak kicker. Rather than getting involved in an unclear situation, I just fold.