Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Challenges & Battleground & Member Blogs /

Dave's $1.50 Sit n' Go (Knockout) Challenge

Old
Dave's $1.50 Sit n' Go (Knockout) Challenge - Tue Apr 09, 2013, 11:32 AM
(#1)
Since: Mar 2013
BronzeStar
Hey all,

I've been playing poker online for a couple of years now, but only ever at play money tables. In the last few weeks I've decided to kick it up a knotch to cash and see what happens. So I took part in the Bankroll Builder promotion and got some great insights as well as some free starting money. I played a lot at the 1c/2c Cash Game tables and have managed to break about even there (Lots of good play countered by lots of bad bluffs). However I did manage to get up to Chromestar status, so from playing the 100K Privillege Freerolls and the $5,000 weekly Chrome+ Freeroll i've managed to boost my bankroll up to $15.

---

That's just a bit of information on where I am at the moment, now onto the challenge. I've decided to return to my old Play Money friend the Sit n' Go and see where that gets me. The aim is to play 10 x $1.50 9-Max Sit n' Gos (Knockout) and then take stock.

From what I've seen of these games the play can be quite tight, but every table seems to have one or two players desperate to call or bet off all their chips. With others players dragged into these pots with the promise of the knockout bounty you can last into the late stages of the tournament without having to do a lot. So here's the structure of the table and my challenge:

Buy in is $1.50 = $1.08 + $0.27 (Bounty) + $0.15

1st gets - $4.86
2nd gets - $2.92
3rd gets - $1.94

So the way I work it out, I need to win once, finish second once, and finish third twice, and accumlate 12 bounties along the way in order to just about break even. Any more than that and I'm in profit!

I'll update each of the 10 games individually, and post hand histories when I can. Any advice, insight, suggestions, feedback etc. would be greatly appreciated.

Dave

Old