Old
My 5 last tournaments...5 - Mon Apr 15, 2013, 01:22 AM
(#1)
Since: Dec 2010

Old
Mon Apr 15, 2013, 01:24 AM
(#2)
If you plan to stick around as a poker player, you're gonna have to learn to deal with bad beats. If I made a forum post every time I lost with aces, I'd have several hundred posts on that subject alone. :/

Maybe posting the beats helps you get over them, but it doesn't do anyone else any favours. Poker is a game that involves luck. Don't sweat the things you can't control (random luck). Focus on getting your money in good most of the time. If you make good decisions, and don't get tilted by the suckouts, the results will look after themselves in the long run.

Read more: My 4 last tournaments...4 - PokerSchoolOnline Forum http://www.pokerschoolonline.com/for...#ixzz2QVTSMFOk

Old
Mon Apr 15, 2013, 11:22 AM
(#3)
Since: Oct 2011
I don't want to get into a big debate here. I'll just say that I'm a veteran of "online poker is rigged" threads (which are not welcome on this forum, btw) and I have very little patience with players who refuse to grasp basic concepts like "the law of large numbers", "the short run" and "variance".

I'm not going to claim that you're imagining things or losing to more suckouts than expected. I've been in that spot. I know what it feels like. I've had weeks (and even a whole month) where I was running so bad that I felt like the poker world was conspiring against me. If you check the graph on my blog you'll see that I ran way below expectation over 100,000 hands. In the grand scheme of things, 100k hands is a "small sample", and the gap between my actual results and the expectation is well within the standard deviation for a game involving luck. Your "last 5 tournaments" is so small a sample that it's completely insignificant. It's meaningless.
Seriously, those bad beats might have some significance to your bankroll, but 5 hands or even 5000 hands aren't anywhere near the amount you need to draw conclusions.