Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

need help

Old
need help - Sun Nov 24, 2002, 05:49 AM
(#1)
Deleted user
I just joined the school and i am very interested. I am new to hold'em and serious poker. Can someone explain or direct me to information on calculating odds and how to implement them in a hand of poker. My math really stinks by the way :?

Old
Sun Nov 24, 2002, 06:49 AM
(#2)
Deleted user
Poombah, I highly recommend Mike Petriv's Hold'em's odds book. This is all the math you will need for Hold'em. Meanwhile, the internet has great sites to explore too. Try this link for starters: http://www.pokerportal.co.uk/, plus http://prock.freeshell.org/http://prock.freeshell.org/ and of course this forum.

I look forward to playing with you, Den

Old
Sun Nov 24, 2002, 07:05 AM
(#3)
Deleted user
THanks for the links, and i will get the book.
I need all the help I can get....lol

Old
Sun Nov 24, 2002, 10:14 AM
(#4)
Since: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noodles
KK v AQs is just over around 2-to-1. Over 5-to-2 if not suited. These odds apply to any pp against 1 overcard. The odds are also very similar for any matchup where someone has a higher kicker, such as AKv AQ or KJ v K2.

KK v K5o is a huge fav.

Got the table below from Sklansky and Barbara Yoon so I assume they are accurate. I've still not got around to reading this lol. Maybe next year.

I haven't bothered reading it as most odds and situations are pretty similar. For example, just assuming 2 high card hands that do not dominate each other are around a 3-to-2 matchup. It won't be far wrong. For example AK v 56, AK v T5 etc. All about the same 3-to-2 matchup.

Most matchups fall within the ballpark of the following group of 6 odds. Evens, 3-to-2, 2-to-1, 5-to-2, 4-to-1, around 10-to-1 or more.

1. Pair versus pair...about...4 1/2-to-1...

2. Pair versus two overcards...about even money.

3. Pair versus one overcard and one undercard...about...2 1/2-to-1...