Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Challenges & Battleground & Member Blogs /

The Perils of Two

Old
The Perils of Two - Thu May 09, 2013, 11:01 AM
(#1)
Since: Dec 2011
Recently I've been dabbling with heads-up play. Probably due to a bad run in the cash games I saw my poker play swiftly dwindle down to near nothing, and that's not what I wanted. And so I went to YouTube, watched a few seasons of NBC's Heads Up Poker Championship, and got back in the mood.

Well, actually that's not entirely true. I didn't watch a few seasons. I watched them all.

And so, I started playing, and watching some of PSO's tutorials. There's a whole lot of heads up videos from HoRRoR77 available, so that's good. And quickly enough, I learned a few things. Some I already knew, some I feared, and some were a surprise.

First, there's no use waiting for big hands. You'll be blinded off before you know it.

Second, there's basically four types of players at the micro stakes. The first one is the nit. They're playing way too tight, and whenever they get chips in the pot, be very very careful. I'm not too fond of playing them. You can take small pot after small pot, but at some point they'll catch something, win a big pot, and then you'll be back to eating small pots forever just to get back to even. Basically, what you need against these players is a real hand. In other words: this one usually ends in a cooler, one way or the other.