Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

Tough spot for me. Please help!

Old
Tough spot for me. Please help! - Tue Jun 04, 2013, 08:07 AM
(#1)
Since: May 2013
Hi everyone. I'm new to these forums and this is my first post. I've been playing poker for 8 years, but this is the first of those years where I've actually started to take it seriously, learn about the game and above all, pay attention! I am essentially, a beginner to intermediate. I usually play 6 max STTs at a $3.50 buy in. I have made around $90 in 100 games. I struggle to make money in MTTs, and this is why I'm posting. My reason for posting comes from a hand in a 6 max MTT, at a $3.30 buy in.

Now, my inexperience may have cost me in this hand, or not. That's what I'm here to find out. The decision I made in the hand has been eating me up inside, and I was hoping one of you guys with a much better grasp of the game than me, could help me out.

My problem in this hand is with user "rangeris332". I saw three of his showdowns and all three of those hands were AJ, suited or not. And co-incidentally, he opened from UTG or UTG+1 with AJ. My problem was that he was raising slightly more than a tight player, and he won without showdown on all of those occasions. He was aggressive for sure.

Here is the hand:

PokerStars Hand #99517953204: Tournament #740439363, $3.00+$0.30 USD Hold'em No Limit - Level IV (25/50) - 2013/06/03 19:23:05 WET [2013/06/03 14:23:05 ET]
Table '740439363 94' 6-max Seat #1 is the button
Seat 1: Xandefla1982 (4630 in chips)
Seat 2: Ed3819 (2340 in chips)
Seat 3: cobno (1526 in chips)
Seat 4: Romana797 (4765 in chips)
Seat 5: rangeris332 (4541 in chips)
Seat 6: mar798 (3148 in chips)
Ed3819: posts small blind 25
cobno: posts big blind 50
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to Ed3819 [Jh Ah]
Romana797: folds
rangeris332: raises 100 to 150
mar798: folds
Xandefla1982: folds
Ed3819: calls 125
cobno: calls 100
*** FLOP *** [6c Jd Tc]
Ed3819: bets 400