Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

Maniac presents difficult decision

Old
Maniac presents difficult decision - Tue Jun 11, 2013, 09:49 AM
(#1)
Since: May 2013
So I'm playing $10 NL yesterday, and I spot this player who seems to have no plan to win in the long term. He's throwing his money around like it's going out of fashion, he's just trying to get action and the pot pumped up like a rubber dingy. Sure enough I have been playing poker for 8 years, and I can spot a maniac. BUT as I have mentioned in my previous posts, I have started to take the game seriously only in the last 6 months or so. I am making a small profit very gradually, which is much better than blowing my bankroll all the time like I used to. So I am here to learn, and I seek advice.

I used to (naively) think that good hole cards alone was the best way to beat the maniac. And when I made a ridiculous call, I would blame it on bad luck, stupidly of course.

In this hand, I have what seems to be a difficult decision on the river. The hands that this player went to showdown with, I made a note of. Most of the time he was bullying players out of a showdown. Here are my notes:

VILLAIN
"Cash: (Re-raised 3x in the Big Blind with KK, then jammed a 4-bet.)
(Flatted 3x in Middle Position with K9 off suit.) Flatted the flop with a pair of nines, bet 1/3 on the turn after no improvement, called an overbet on the flop 2/3 of his stack on the river after no improvement.
(Raised 10x on the button with AJ off suit.) Jammed after being 3bet by the Big Blind.
(Raised 10x with one limper in the Small Blind with 77.) Bet 80% on the flop with an overpair and called all in."

Here is the hand:

PokerStars Hand #99832433251: Hold'em No Limit ($0.05/$0.10 USD) - 2013/06/10 13:28:29 WET [2013/06/10 8:28:29 ET]
Table 'Beograd V' 9-max Seat #8 is the button
Seat 1: Villain 1 ($10 in chips)
Seat 2: Hero ($11.59 in chips)
Seat 3: Villain 2 ($3.19 in chips)
Seat 4: Maniac ($11.77 in chips)