Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

+EV

Old
Exclamation
+EV - Wed Jun 12, 2013, 06:39 PM
(#1)
Since: Apr 2012
Hi everyone,
its my first time posting on this forum but I watch many PSO replay videos.

Recently ive been trying to figure out what +EV really is...
I know it is expected value and I also know that it is only an indicator used when you are all-in (right?)

now I used HEM2 (Holdem manager 2) and i constantly see my EV in the negative, I even had -EV on a AA vs KK hand, im so confused..

Preflop: Hero is UTG+2 with A of diamonds A of spades
UTG+1 folds, Hero raises to $0.75, 6 folds, BB raises to $1.50, Hero raises to $2.25, BB raises to $12.12 and is all-in, Hero calls $9.87

Flop: ($24.34) 6 of hearts Q of clubs 4 of clubs (2 players, 1 is all-in)
Turn: ($24.34) Q of hearts (2 players, 1 is all-in)
River: ($24.34) 2 of diamonds (2 players, 1 is all-in)

Results: $24.34 pot ($1.10 rake)
Final Board: 6 of hearts Q of clubs 4 of clubs Q of hearts 2 of diamonds
BB showed K of clubs K of hearts and lost (-$12.12 net)
Hero showed A of diamonds A of spades and won $23.24 ($11.12 net)

Thanks for your help

Old
Wed Jun 12, 2013, 07:22 PM
(#2)
Since: Jul 2011
Hi Hylmnn,

Welcome to PokerSchoolOnline! Here is a link to help familiarize you with all the features and services available at PSO. Feel free to look around the forum and post any comments or questions you may have.

You are invited to join the PokerSchoolOnline Community Home Games Club. Information on how to join the club may be found here.

EV is a little bugger to understand, but it really is necassary to do so. Expected value should underline everything you do in poker. It's not just for when you're all in, you should be looking to make +EV bets everytime you make a decision at the tables.

Expected value is the amount of money you would win or lose on average on your bet.