Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

Sunday Million - Critical Stage

Old
Sunday Million - Critical Stage - Sun Jun 16, 2013, 07:03 PM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2010

PINOY_HITMAN finished the tournament in 1314th place. 990 get cash.

I know i'm getting good prize here but was not able to play it till the end. Pot more than half my stacks.

After reviewing the hand. With 12BB left, shove is the right play to avoid out played by big stacks and make a bad fold.

I don't have fold equity but oppo respect my shove.

Any advice?

PH

Last edited by PINOY_HITMAN; Sun Jun 16, 2013 at 07:14 PM..

Old
Mon Jun 17, 2013, 03:01 AM
(#2)
Since: May 2011
I am by no means an expert on tournaments so I could be wrong here, but here's my two cents. I would fold preflop here for a number of reasons:

1) You do not have fold equity. You are up against an early position open and a call, and both of them have big stacks.
2) KQ plays bad against Ax hands and you're flipping against pairs. You could also be dominated by AK/AQ which is well within the opener's range.
3) The million has a slow 15 minute structure, so you're not desperate yet. It's better to be first in the pot and maximize fold equity. In conjunction with that.....
4) ....Look at the stacks behind you. A short and a middle stack, and the bubble is fast approaching. You could shove a wider range with them behind (without going out of line of course) and chip up that way while you also get more fold equity as you pick up chips.

Last edited by Feskprins; Mon Jun 17, 2013 at 10:03 PM..

Old
Mon Jun 17, 2013, 07:13 PM
(#3)
Since: Jan 2012
Hi PINOY_HITMAN

Although that you are getting a great price to see a flop with QK you do not have enough chips to justify the call, and you probably know this

These are the types of awkward spots we will get ourselves into when we decide to call a raise with less than 20 bb's.