Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

PSO Poker Basics Play Money History

Old
PSO Poker Basics Play Money History - Thu Jun 27, 2013, 05:06 PM
(#1)
Since: May 2013
ChromeStar
Hi so you're supposed to play a couple of orbits of play money poker. The game wouldn't launch for me from the link but went and played and here is the hand history.

Old
Thu Jun 27, 2013, 05:53 PM
(#2)
Since: Oct 2011
I'm seeing 5 hands in the replayer. Any more just makes it too confusing.

Firstly, I would recommend you play on 9-handed full ring tables if you're a total beginner, as the PSO beginner courses are designed for that format, in which a patient and disciplined style works well. 6-max is more loose and aggressive.

Hands 1-3 are standard folds of trash hands.
In hand 4, A9s is about the bottom of my range for opening UTG in a 6-max game. I'd prefer ATs, really, as playing out of position with a "trouble hand" like A9s is neither fun or profitable. I'd also stick with a standard 3bb open, not a minraise. If you got heads up, then making a continuation bet on the T42 flop would be standard, but in a multiway pot, you have much less fold equity, so checking with the intention of folding is fine.
In hand 5, I'm only calling with A3s because the pot is multiway, so there are good implied odds if you happen to hit two pairs or a flush/straight. It's generally a mistake to play raised pots out of position (in the blinds) with weak aces. As played, you should check the flop. Primarily because it's standard to check to the pre-flop raiser, but secondly, it's hard to get called by worse if you lead out. You can get action from flush draws, but the most likely hands villains call a bet with are aces, and there is only one ace worse than yours, and you'll usually only be chopping the pot with A2. Villain's losing hand isn't shown, but he obviously didn't make a flush, so I guess he was calling with a weaker pair like 99 or a random 8.