Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

6max 2/4 Should I be x/r turn not leading

Old
6max 2/4 Should I be x/r turn not leading - Thu Jul 11, 2013, 09:06 PM
(#1)
Since: May 2011
Hi,

Absolute beginner today after Dave's live training. I remembered the x/r idea to get more money in the pot.

Flopped a boat so x/r flop but then I lead out on the turn.

Should I check turn and hope to see a bet multi-way and then raise and repeat this tactic on the river?

Felt I probably started ok then got it wrong.

Old
Fri Jul 12, 2013, 09:02 AM
(#2)
Since: Jul 2011
BronzeStar
i think you cant check the turn you just shown allot of agression and if you check they are probably scared to get raised i think you played the hand weel although i would have just donk bet the flop because there was not pre flop agressor. i'm intersted to hear what the othere people might say

Triple Bracelet Winner

Old
Sun Jul 14, 2013, 06:22 PM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2010
(Head Trainer)
Hi forrest,

I would bet out directly on the flop. The idea from class for check-raising is when the probable bettor is to our left, to trap the field. They bet, pick up callers, then we c/r, and they will call 1 more bet after putting 1 in. Even if the villain 3-bets our c/r, players will have a harder time folding for 2 more bets cold after putting 1 in already on the current street. The problem in this hand is it's a limped pot, so we don't have a probable flop bettor and we really don't want this flop to get checked through, so here I think it's best to start the betting ourselves.