Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

palying the mtt

Old
palying the mtt - Fri Jul 12, 2013, 12:38 PM
(#1)
Since: May 2013
i am new to poker .and recently i started playing poker school league and i think i am doing some thing wrong bcoz i alwasy bust out of short stack .. i wait for premium hand to play but i some how end of busting out early.. i decided topost my hand here so that pso member can help me and point out my mistake .. i sometime get confused how to play these mtt and what are the strategy so that i wont get short stacked ? and i know my english is pretty bad

Old
Fri Jul 12, 2013, 12:51 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Hi sunil786!

There is no hand in this post.

In the skill leagues, you will mostly be playing a short stack.. so you need to get used to it. Busting early in these is NOT an option. I don't ever want to be all in unless I'm sure I'm going to win the pot.. in the early stages.

If you're a short stack early, it's most likely becauae you are playing non-premium hands and are involved in way too many pots.

To play these correctly... you WILL BE short-stacked until very, very, very late in the tourneys.

John (JWK24)

Super-Moderator

6 Time Bracelet Winner

Old
Fri Jul 12, 2013, 01:46 PM
(#3)
i know that and i play only the premium hands and i only get short stacked in late game .. .. and i want to know how i can play well and secure my position in late game

and thanxs for ur quick reply (john )

Old
Fri Jul 12, 2013, 04:29 PM
(#4)
Since: Sep 2012
i would highly suggest watching videos from the library - there are many on there that helped alot of us out about what hands to play, in what position- when to give up and how to play properly

once you have those basics you can adapt your own game into it

Old
Fri Jul 12, 2013, 11:52 PM
(#5)
thanxs bigfoot for ur suggestions

Old
Sat Jul 13, 2013, 01:23 PM
(#6)
this vid
MTT play

may be a good one for you.