Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

What's Your Experience Of Play Money Games.

View Poll Results: Are Play Money Tables Good For Beginners?
Yes, it's wise to start off playing these tables. 25 75.76%
No, don't waste your time. Deposit and start playing real money tables. 8 24.24%
Voters: 33. You may not vote on this poll

Old
What's Your Experience Of Play Money Games. - Mon Jul 15, 2013, 07:11 AM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2011
(Community Coordinator)
Hello all,

Can you remember when you first began to play online poker? Did you jump right in and deposit straight away or did you try out the play money tables first?

The next question to that then I guess is whether the play money tables are a good place for an absolute beginner or not, what's your thoughts?

Personally I think that an online poker room can be kind of intimidating to an absolute beginner who's playing for the first time ever. It takes time to get used to the software, all the buttons and sounds let alone the fast action at a table.

So let me know what you think. Are the play money tables a good place for a beginner or not?

Raiser

Bracelet Winner

Old
Mon Jul 15, 2013, 08:33 AM
(#2)
Since: Oct 2011
I think the play money tables are great for learning how to use the software, and also for trying out games you're unfamilar with.

Just before PSOSOP Event #1, I went to find a 2-7 Triple Draw table in the play money lobby, just so I could see how the game is played. It took me a few hands to work out what the hell was going on! If I'd immediately played on a real money table, I'm sure I would have lost some cash.

I think players will learn about "correct" strategy more quickly by playing on real money tables when they're ready, as staying with play money too long could lead you to develop bad habits, like limping and calling too often.