Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Challenges & Battleground & Member Blogs /

MTT/SNG player does cash

Old
MTT/SNG player does cash - Tue Aug 27, 2013, 03:18 PM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2011
I have been playing poker for around 2 years now and have decided to broaden my knowledge away from tournament games.

In the past I have tried cash games to no avail as I probably played them in a more sng style.

Playing and studying a different variation of poker that I am used to, I think will improve all aspects of my game.

To start I will play 10 tables of 2nl full ring with abc style as this seems to be a standard tactic at this level.

If things seem to go well I will move up to 5nl as I am rolled for higher.

I wont set any volume goals as I think this could be a little distracting and I want to play my best when I do play.

I will try to limit my session times to 2 hours max as a loss of focus can lead to bad plays.

I want to dedicate 25% of my time spent on study.

I am really quite excited and quietly confident ,fingers crossed.

Old
Tue Aug 27, 2013, 03:18 PM
(#2)
Adventures at 2nl seem to be going well although I have made a few mistakes.

After 10k hands I am at the point where I thought I would be.

Around the 5k hands mark I decided to update my hud with more post flop and steal/resteal stats as I never really used them in sngs. It took a while to adjust to all the new numbers and I was a little lost at first but now I can see it was worth it.

I have already identified some possible leaks, calling down a little light and calling 3 bets a little light

Last edited by DonkeyJez; Thu Aug 29, 2013 at 05:58 PM..

Old
Tue Aug 27, 2013, 03:22 PM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Good luck with it DJ... sounds like you're at the same point where I was about 3-4 yrs ago except I'm not 10 tabling (more like 4-6) GL with it and remember that cash tables need a different strategy compared to tourneys. When you review hands... look for leaks.