Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Newbie-Intermediate Reading Material besides PSO

Old
Newbie-Intermediate Reading Material besides PSO - Wed Sep 25, 2013, 12:58 PM
(#1)
Since: Sep 2013
Hi,

I am fairly new to Poker and was looking for books to read to strengthen my basic and intermediate game. I play lots of other card games so have a good idea of odds but find that I make more mistakes than I think after discovering the odds calculator

I could finish in the top 500 of tournaments more often if I play sensibly so I feel I have a fair understanding of NLHE, or a beginning atleast. I am looking to take this to the next level.

Any pointers are appreciated - books, videos, software..
I wish there were a way to easily guesstimate my skill level to point me in the right direction.

Cheers!

Last edited by IBStryp; Wed Sep 25, 2013 at 01:32 PM..

Old
Wed Sep 25, 2013, 02:22 PM
(#2)
Since: Aug 2010
(Moderator)
Hi
I have found Harrington on Hold 'em very usefull books, Volume one deals with Strategic play.
A very usefull source of poker books and information is available at www.twoplustwo.com

Hope this helps, im sure other members will also be suggesting some books for your consideration.

Goodluck

Old
Sun Sep 29, 2013, 04:54 PM
(#3)
Since: Sep 2013
Thanks, I'm a little surprised at the lack of other suggestions but hey ho.

So these 2 for a good starting point for a beginner/intermediate player:

.. are a good start?

Thanks!

Old
Sun Sep 29, 2013, 05:10 PM
(#4)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Winning Poker Tournaments One Hand at a Time (vol 1, 2 and 3)

Super-Moderator

6 Time Bracelet Winner

Old
Sun Sep 29, 2013, 11:41 PM
(#5)
Since: Feb 2011
BronzeStar