Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

shall i start my training with head up only ?

Old
shall i start my training with head up only ? - Sat Oct 12, 2013, 02:23 PM
(#1)
Since: Sep 2013
Hello,

I'm studying a lot but don't playing that much lately, and i was wondering if i should practice only head up first, i thought that it may be a goood idea as in tournament it will often lead to this kind of situation.

and when playing headup, are the starting hands the same than those that should be played when UTG with several players at the table ?

i'm looking forward to your replies

Old
Sat Oct 12, 2013, 02:31 PM
(#2)
Since: Aug 2013
heads-up you should be playing a vastly wider range than UTG with many players.
you should go into maniac mode, really, until villain starts to play back.

Old
Sat Oct 12, 2013, 06:20 PM
(#3)
Since: Apr 2012
My opinion would be this is a bad idea if you plan on playing MTTs or even STTs as your regular game. While it's good to have a decent heads up game the majority of your tournaments won't end in you getting heads up. I think it would probably be a much better use of your time to study playing what your regular game is starting with early stage play, then middle stage play then late stage play. It's more important to practice getting into good spots before practicing what to do when you get there.

As for your question about hand ranges of HU, when you get HU you should be opening massively wider then you would UTG in a regular game. Depending on my opponent I will open between 80-100% of hands on the button when heads up. Couldn't be more different from my UTG range in a full ring table.

If you do wish to spend some of your time studying heads up I suggest searching for HU videos using the advanced search function in the video library. I really recommend watching some of Andre's classes too, they really helped me.

Tournament of Champions Winner 2013

Bracelet Winner

Old