Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

Need some advices with odds & Poker hands analysis

Old
Need some advices with odds & Poker hands analysis - Fri Oct 18, 2013, 03:23 AM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2013
Hi guys,

I've just started to play cash game NL1-2c and I have a hard time trying to make the best decision as I am pretty sure I am miscalculating my odds. I am also not really disciplined, so it can cost me lots of money, even if I know I am beaten because they are thight players. I am scared of being bluffed and losing some money I could have win. For that part, playing is the cure I guess, as those bad habits tend to go away as I am playing more hands. Doing them is so frustrating that you discipline yourself! Like bullying small stack like in a tournament. I've done it a couple of times and realized my mistake after I lost the hands. I have some experience and good results in tournament so far for a casual/starting player. My best was 27 out of 9k players($2+0.20 buy-in). I'm doing small tournaments only. I am not good enough for serious player yet!

Then come the odds.... I just don't get how they change from flop to the turn, and from the turn to the river. I read about the rules of 4 and 2, but I also read that the odds of hitting a flush draw, for exemple, is about 4:1 after the flop, and roughly the same after the turn. But if you use the rule of 4 and 2 it should be about 36%, so 2:1 after the flop and then about 18%, so 4:1 after the turn? How does the Odds can stay roughly around 4:1 after the flop, and the same after the turn!? Maybe I just read some wrong information...

As you can see, I am struggling with odds. How did you learn to correctly calculate your odds? Is there any other tips or advice? Would it be a good thing to memorize the chart in the Cash game course? And is there any place were there are some common odds/ ratio I could memorize? (4:1 = 20%, etc)