Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

NL Micro - KJ AK - Back to Back folds...not sure what the right play was on either.

Old
NL Micro - KJ AK - Back to Back folds...not sure what the right play was on either. - Tue Oct 29, 2013, 02:55 PM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2013
BronzeStar
I'm a relative beginner, however unlike many beginners I don't chase hands nearly that often. If anything I feel at times I let hands get away. Today I had these two hands back to back. Both of which i let go. Hoping to get some critique on how I played the hand, whether I should have let them go, stuck around, etc.

Any help from you all is much appreciated.

Old
Wed Oct 30, 2013, 05:10 AM
(#2)
Since: Apr 2012
Hi Millmuff,

first hand (KJo):
Preflop its kind of close and villain dependend what to do with KJo there. Villain opens from middle position and KJo does not do to great vs thoose opens. So depending on the villain, call, three bet light or fold could all be good preflop imo. I would only call vs villains who open to much from middle position (over 20% I would say).

On the flop your small raise of his c-bet is just weird with Top Pair and Jack Kicker, not sure what your plan was there, but the standard line is just to call there. Your hand is not strong enough to go for a raise / bet / bet line and still get called by worse and you surely dont wanna turn your hand into a bluff either, so just call.

The turn gets tricky because of your flop raise. The villain range looks pretty strong here after calling your raise and leading out now again. Not sure if you could already fold turn, so dont overplay the flop and you wont get into this spot again :-). River is a check back imo since you overplayed the flop and villain still showed aggression on the turn.

Seond Hand (AKs):