Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

Protection Bet - suitable for microstakes?

Old
Question
Protection Bet - suitable for microstakes? - Sat Nov 02, 2013, 04:48 AM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2013
BronzeStar
Hi,

I'm a beginner and have finished poker basics lessons on PSO.
Since I'm a beginner, I play only 2NLHE and a few freerolls other tournaments.

I shall describe a hand which ended my tournament on 84th place (out of about 19000 participants). I have a few beginner questions here and would appreciate any responses.

I'm holding JdAd in Middle Position with 12BB stack. I bet 4BB. CO with a similar stack size calls and everyone else folds. Flop has a J and two spades, no straight possibilities. To protect from flush I bet another 4BB. Co raises and i call all-in since i have TPTK. CO has a pocket sevens and rivers a set. That ended my tournament.

My questions:

1. Is the play by CO appropriate? He also has a short stack and and maybe it is right to shove with 77s. But is it right to do so when opponent is clearly saying he's got a better pair? If he was following my playstyle - it was tight. my vpip would be about 15 in this tournament so there was no room to say i was bluffing.

2. This scenario where players continue to call with bottom pair / flush draw / straight draw, while facing 30bb protection bets, is very prevalent in 2NL cash games. I believe the thought process is "its just a dollar'm risking". So, does "Protection Bet" make sense in microstake cash games? Or, is it more profitable to bet small and lose little when the villain makes a flush on turn/river?

Please note: I am not cribbing over losing money to bad players. I'm a beginner eager to learn, and am in no position to judge other's play style. I may have made some wrong assumptions in the scenario and questions above. Please do forgive me for those and correct me. I'm open to criticism.

Cheers,
CAPPER33

Old
Sat Nov 02, 2013, 05:04 AM
(#2)