Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

nl10, zoom: 89s, multiway raised pot, call or fold w/ set on turn

Old
10NL, zoom: 89s, multiway raised pot, call or fold w/ set on turn - Sun Nov 24, 2013, 07:14 AM
(#1)
Since: Nov 2013

- no previous read on the villain
- don't use HUD
- played zoom

PreFlop
-called w/ suited connectors on multiway pot

Flop
-chk/call w/ my top pair on wet board

Turn
-hit the set. chk/raise to protect hand.

Problem:
How should I deal with the 3bet push on the turn?
Fold or Call?

Last edited by kalahwang; Sun Nov 24, 2013 at 07:21 AM..

Old
Sun Nov 24, 2013, 09:02 AM
(#2)
Since: Mar 2013
Hiya! I'm still learning myself and I probably wouldn't have done what I'm about to say in your situation either but I'll take a shot at reading it. (and learn from it myself if I'm right lol)

* Preflop a call is good imo. Though I have learned that when you make a call with suited connectors, you have to know what you want to flop. For suited connectors you are looking for a STR or FL draw. Flopping top pair makes it harder, but doesn't mean the pot should be lost to you yet.

* The villain was checked to and raises 50% in a multiway. He is giving a cheap price for half the table to flop a flush, so chances are big that he has a FL draw himself. To get some information out of him, I'd suggest reraising on the flop, to see how good your top pair is. He might as well be bluffing because it was checked to him.

* If the villain jams after the flop RR, it's an easy fold. It would represent something like an overpair or a set. (losing your bet will save you money in the longrun)
*If the villain calls your RR, I'd set him on a FL draw, so eventhough I made a boardset on the turn, it's a semi-easy fold because it's the wrong 9 lol. I'd still bet the turn, but fold to a RR
* If the villain folds.. You got him to stop bluffing or he realises the price for the flush is too high.