Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

break even + VIP and FPP bonuses=Move up stakes?

Old
break even + VIP and FPP bonuses=Move up stakes? - Fri Nov 29, 2013, 02:10 PM
(#1)
Since: May 2012
I have been playing for a while now at the $1.50 level and I am more or less break even
If i gather the necessary VIP and FPP bonuses should I move up at the $3.50's?
I think that the difficulty is about the same, plus the rake is a little smaller, so i think I'll manage. Doing so, I'll earn VPPs faster
Should i do it, or not?
What do you guys think?

Old
Fri Nov 29, 2013, 04:30 PM
(#2)
Since: Sep 2010
I have been playing poker for a few years now, but over the last few months this is the first time that I am taking is seriously and being disciplined about playing in the right way and I think my poker understanding is coming on leaps and bounds.

In my "former career", I took down a few big MTTs at the low stakes (usually up to $11 with some shots at bigger tourneys) with prizes of 4 figures. After one particularly big win (an $8.80 MTT with 3K+ runners for $3,600) - I thought I was the bees knees and that I had "graduated" as a poker player and that I belonged in the big time. I didn't really know about bankroll management and I started playing 100NL and 200NL 6Max, I entered the Sunday Million for a couple of months and when I started losing money, I didn't even consider that my skill level wasn't good enough. I just put it down to bad luck, people sucking out and thought that it was inevitable that my next huge payday would come.

Of course that payday didn't come because my poker skills were not that good.

While I stopped short of going broke, I essentially gave up the game just playing sporadically.

Now I've got more time to dedicate to the game, so I took out everything bar $20 and started from scratch, playing 2NL and $0.10 and $0.50 SNGs and MTTs.