Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

2$ to start, what now?

Old
2$ to start, what now? - Tue Dec 24, 2013, 06:14 PM
(#1)
Since: Dec 2013
So, I'm quite new to poker and although I seem to absorb the material listed on the site well, I'm unlucky when it comes to get results.

I started with my 1st 2$ and after I got to 1.4$ I had this hand:

So, now I'm left with 2,18$ to continue my quest for 10VPP to get the next 2$ bonus.

Any advice on what I should do? I'm now trying to tag has many players as possible before I enter a table so that I know if I'm playing against alot of sharks or only a few.

This resulted in a few cent gains over an hour of play 0.10 to be exact.

Should I keep this strategy up or should I play more tournaments of poker school to try and raise my budget before I try to get the 10VPP?

My challenge is really to get from the 2$ to a possible 20$ in a couple of months.

Any tips?

Thank you in advance to you all.

Last edited by tjvomauricio; Tue Dec 24, 2013 at 06:17 PM..

Old
Tue Dec 24, 2013, 06:56 PM
(#2)
Since: Feb 2011
The only suggestions I could make is watch the lobby and see who's playing more than 1 table. Colour code them and then pick a table with very few players you've colour coded.

Players that play many tables are not necessarily good players but they generally know the basics and make less mistakes. You want to play with players that make mistakes because it will make you money.

This may go against other advice but I'd break the $2.18 into 72c buy ins. This will give you 3 chances. Normally the advice is to buy in with the maximum so you can stack off against bad players but you can't afford to lose it all in one go and bad beats do happen. A minimum buy in is 60c so go for 72 and you'll get 3 x maximum value. Play like this until you've around $10 and then you can increase your buy in amounts.