Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

Big Bang - Top set, but awkward stack size

Old
Big Bang - Top set, but awkward stack size - Sat Jan 11, 2014, 02:57 PM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2011
Big Bang. Around 200 players left, 144 get paid. Villain 1 was loose-passive.

Flopping top set in a multi-way pot is a great result with pocket Jacks, but the stack-size to pot ratio was awkward, and the board was wet, so I wasn't sure how to proceed. Any sort of bet committed me, and an overshove might drive people out, which I DIDN'T want with this holding. So I decided to check with the intention of shoving over any bet. I managed to get this.

Was this the right line? Or should I have overshoved the flop?

Also, I do not want JWK to be the one to analyze this - his analyses usually feel like they treat the asker as if they're a complete beginner to me. This is good when the asker is brand new, but not when they've been around for a few years.

Old
Sun Jan 12, 2014, 05:37 AM
(#2)
Since: Mar 2013
You decided to check here with intention of shoving over any bet, but what if all checks after you and turn will be a diamond or Q? Wasnt scared of that board full of draws? In this spot I would shove.

P.S.
JWK is one of the best HA here and its not about him but about you (your ego). IMO his analysis are simple, clear and easy understandable to everyone. I play poker for about 5,5 years and my head is full of this game details but still everytime I feel like a begginer who needs to learn a lot. I am even happy when I can repeat betting patterns which looks obvious but most of us forget them Simplicity is perfection.

Last edited by MyNumber7; Sun Jan 12, 2014 at 05:54 AM..

Old
Sun Jan 12, 2014, 10:59 AM
(#3)
Since: Oct 2011
Any sort of bet commits you, but you have the nuts! Why don't you want to get commited?