Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

Lessons in betting put to the test

Old
Lessons in betting put to the test - Wed Jan 15, 2014, 08:47 PM
(#1)
Since: Dec 2013
BronzeStar
I am fairly new to Hold 'Em but seem to do well in spite of my lack of experience or education. I can usually place in one of the paying positions in a tourney though not often enough that I consider quitting my day job.

I figure I have plenty of room for improvement and have been going through the PSO lessons and trying to put them to the test. I finished a section on betting where raising/folding is preferable to checking/calling which I can understand. So I put it to the test for a few rounds.

PokerStars Hand #110208275068: Hold'em No Limit ($0.01/$0.02 USD) - 2014/01/15 20:15:47 ET
Table 'Albiorix III' 6-max Seat #2 is the button
Seat 1: brnparisbrn ($2.15 in chips)
Seat 2: suileet ($2.17 in chips)
Seat 3: 1.TORES ($2.68 in chips)
Seat 4: lifeless4u ($5 in chips)
Seat 5: AzZazaza ($1.50 in chips)
Seat 6: Sailor921 ($1.54 in chips)
1.TORES: posts small blind $0.01
lifeless4u: posts big blind $0.02
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to Sailor921 [7d Kh]
AzZazaza: calls $0.02
Sailor921: calls $0.02 <-- didn't think my hand was too good or bad yet.
brnparisbrn: folds
suileet: folds
1.TORES: calls $0.01
lifeless4u: checks
*** FLOP *** [7c 4c 8d]
1.TORES: checks
lifeless4u: checks
AzZazaza: checks
Sailor921: bets $0.04 <--- too agreesive for middle pair?
1.TORES: folds
lifeless4u: folds
AzZazaza: calls $0.04
*** TURN *** [7c 4c 8d] [Qd]
Sailor921: bets $0.06 <-- cards don't justify it, but opponent just checked so I raised with confidence
AzZazaza: calls $0.06
*** RIVER *** [7c 4c 8d Qd] [6c]
Sailor921: checks <--- thought i should check for showdown with just a pair of sevens
*** SHOW DOWN ***
AzZazaza: shows [Js 9h] (high card Queen)
Sailor921: shows [7d Kh] (a pair of Sevens)
Sailor921 collected $0.27 from pot
<--- I won!
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot $0.28 | Rake $0.01