Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

2NL FR Zoom - Calling shoves with AA

Old
2NL FR Zoom - Calling shoves with AA - Tue Jan 21, 2014, 11:13 AM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2013
So every time I'm faced with this decision I lean towards calling. Sometimes if I have notes that the guy is a nitty set miner and is 5bet shoving my flop bet/re-raise, I fold - This is my attempt at learning to play deep stacked.

Should I be calling sometimes/if at all, say if I have notes that nitty opps will shove there with KK/set alone? I'm trying to understand if this is -EV over time. I started learning playing tourneys and would always be happy to ship it there.

Should I fist pump ship it/call shoves even if it's a draw heavy flop texture? I usually don't lose much to tilted short stacked shoves with KQ but sometimes I do and wonder if the 30-85c is worth calling down every time because hey it's AA.

Old
Tue Jan 21, 2014, 12:44 PM
(#2)
Since: Sep 2012
We aren't deep.

Just 5b shove pre.

Old
Tue Jan 21, 2014, 02:09 PM
(#3)
Since: Oct 2011
What purpose does flatting the 4-bet serve? Answer: None whatsoever.
5-bet and print money against a range that's likely to be QQ+/AK, which you're completely crushing.

As played, it's one of the worst flops imaginable for AA, as you're only beating AK, but the SPR is not much more than 2:1. I'm basically never folding an overpair at that price.

Bracelet Winner

Last edited by ArtySmokesPS; Tue Jan 21, 2014 at 02:12 PM..

Old
Tue Jan 21, 2014, 02:26 PM
(#4)
Since: Jun 2012
At the micros, enough people think that QQ and JJ are the pre-flop nuts (If 6max then QQ is good enough), and they will happily shove it.

Just keep shovelling the money into the middle with AA, I'd rather the money went in pre every single time, than calling and dealing with this kind of scenario.

There are times when there is an argument for flatting I guess but I am nowhere near skilled enough to know when I should get away from them after flatting.