Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

Zoom downswings

Old
Zoom downswings - Wed Feb 05, 2014, 12:29 PM
(#1)
Since: Sep 2013
Hey guys

I'm having trouble dealing with downswings playing zoom at the moment and it's normal to lose 2-3 BI in 2 hour sessions ? Kinda swingy, like one day im up 2-3 buy ins, next day i might lose 1-2 BI...

Had a great run at 5NL, and rarely had any 'red' days, and in 10NL it becomes more often...

Old
Wed Feb 05, 2014, 12:42 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2012
At Zoom you can drop 2-3 BI in a few minutes never mind a couple of hours and make it back just as quick. You really are turning hands over at a high rate. Given the nature of Zoom it's harder to get a handle on your table on any hand as at the micros the pools are huge.

I've a thread over in challenges and battleground. Look at some of the graphs in it lately. Huge swings. Maybe I am playing erratically but it shows how you can be up and down in short periods.

I'm new to 6 max though and still finding my feet.

Old
Wed Feb 05, 2014, 02:17 PM
(#3)
Since: Oct 2011
I once lost 5 stacks in 45 hands, so 2-3 BIs in 2 hours is nothing, frankly. If the fast pace of coolers is tilting you, then switch to regular tables.
As you move up stakes, you'll have a smaller edge on the field, so you'll be at the mercy of longer downswings. Fixing any mental game leaks will be crucial, as you can't afford to tilt off a couple of buy-ins if your overall winrate is less than 5bb/100, which would be fairly standard at 10NL+.

Bracelet Winner

Old
Wed Feb 05, 2014, 03:00 PM
(#4)
Since: Apr 2012
I don't have big downswings but i do get a lot of breaking even stretches. Taking a break from Zoom now (35k hands breakin even.). Changed to regular tables and in 5k hands i'm up 8 buy-ins. Never see that in zoom, more like a slow griind. No more Zoom this month for me.

Old
Wed Feb 05, 2014, 09:53 PM
(#5)
Since: Mar 2013