Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

Early strategy

Old
Early strategy - Sat Feb 15, 2014, 12:18 AM
(#1)
Since: Jan 2014
I had a guy tell me that in tournaments that you should play real loose and aggresive early because you will either build a bigger stack or bust out and this will save you from wasting your time because after the blinds go up for the third time if you are not in the top 25 percent in chips you do not have a shot anyway. I am new to all this and tomorrow I am playing in the share and win tournament and this seems to go against what I have learned so far in the courses I have taken. Any truth to what I was told? Thanks for any advice.

Old
Sat Feb 15, 2014, 12:40 AM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Do the EXACT OPPOSITE of what they said. Playing like a maniac is how to bust a bankroll.

John (JWK24)

Super-Moderator

6 Time Bracelet Winner

Old
Sat Feb 15, 2014, 12:57 AM
(#3)
Since: Aug 2013
+1 with John.

Also think of it this way, the first 3 levels are around 30-45mins of a tournament right? Microstakes MTTs take anywhere between 6-10 hours to finish (this will never change), depending on the number of runners.

So actually, it's quite logical to see that you can NEVER EVER win a tourney in the first 30min, but you can DEFINITELY lose it by busting out in 30min or less.

Old
Thanks - Sat Feb 15, 2014, 04:14 AM
(#4)
Thanks John for taking the time to give me your advice. As I stated I am new to this and hope my questions are not a total waste of your time. There seems to be alot of contradiction out there as to the proper style or procedure of play to each situation. I am going to stick with you guys as long as you let me keep asking my low poker IQ questions. THANKS AGAIN FOR EVERYTHING, it is APPRECIATED.

Old
Thanks for the advice - Sat Feb 15, 2014, 04:22 AM
(#5)