Home / Community / Forum / Support Area / Poker News /

500 to 20.000 ... is it possible?!!!

Old
500 to 20.000 ... is it possible?!!! - Sun Feb 16, 2014, 10:55 AM
(#1)
Since: Feb 2014
Hi everyone,
I am new to the fomrum and I've been told it's had best poker community discussions ... so I will try to represent myself
I've been a recreational online poker player for about a year playing only freerolls ... I never made a deposite .. anyway yesterday I won about 550 in a freeroll on stars since then I been thinking if it's possible to get it to 20.000, I really want to know what you guys think and if you think it's possible and what best stakes I should be playing

P.S: I am an engineering student so I can't play more than an hour a day

thanks for your time

Old
Sun Feb 16, 2014, 11:08 AM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
It is possible, but will take a lot of time, hard work and studying. When playing, bankroll management is a big key, as you don't want to be taking chances with going bust. I normally play MTT's and SNG's and for those, I won't play anything that I don't have at least 100 buy-ins in my bankroll. For playing cash games, I always buy-in for the maximum and want to have at least 50 buy-ins in my bankroll, but am more comfortable with a much higher number. Everyone will hit downswings and I need to be able to account for these without busting my bankroll.

A goal like this will take a considerable amount of time, but can be done.

Good luck at the tables.

John (JWK24)

Super-Moderator

6 Time Bracelet Winner

Old
Wed Feb 19, 2014, 09:14 PM
(#3)
Since: Oct 2011
Hi fyytu,

Welcome to the forum

Setting goals like this are great for motivation and the reward at the end would be in this case a lot of money :P but you can't think that this is going to just happen make 20k when you reach the end of the year if i play this many hands etc. you need to really work at your game to make this kind of challenge happen.