Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

Full House Vs 4 Of A Kind Unlucky Beat?

Old
Full House Vs 4 Of A Kind Unlucky Beat? - Sun Feb 23, 2014, 09:12 PM
(#1)
Since: Feb 2014
BronzeStar

Im Kinda new to poker and would like to know if i played my hand right or what i should have done or it was just an unlucky beat?

Old
Mon Feb 24, 2014, 12:20 AM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Hi C.Duncan94!

With 55 from UTG at a full ring table, I'm going to fold this preflop. If it was a higher pair (say 88-99+), then I'd make a standard raise to 3BB+1BB for each limper, to 90 chips. Hands that are not worth raising with, especially from early position are ones that I need to muck due to the positional disadvantage that I have in acting first postflop. I try not to open-limp, as this is a play that can easily be exploited by a better player with position on me, as if they raise, then my hand is not strong enough to call the raise, so I lose 30 chips. It also gives a tell to the opps that I have a marginal hand and if they have this knowledge, they can then use it against me postflop.

If I saw the flop (which I would not), when I see that I flop a set and it checks to me, I'm going to make a standard value bet. Bets postflop need to be sized based on the size of the pot, number of opps and board texture. With 3 opps in the hand, I need to and will bet 3/4 pot or 90 chips.

The turn pairs the board and now with 2 opps in the hand, a standard bet is 2/3 pot, so I will bet 260. I want to keep all of my bets standard, as this helps to conceal the strength of my hand. Players that bet more with better hands and less with marginal ones are basically turning their cards face-up to an observant opponent... something that I want to avoid.