Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Bankroll Question.

Old
Bankroll Question. - Mon Feb 24, 2014, 10:30 AM
(#1)
Since: Feb 2014
BronzeStar
Hey guys, i'm fairly new to competitive online poker and i'm currently a student so my bankroll at most times isn't huge. I normally only deposit about £10 at any given time (around $16). I'm just wondering if you guys think my strategy is correct. I've always played STT $1.50 9 man tables in which top 3 get paid. Is this a good strategy for small bankroll management? Any opinions would be great.

Thanks in Advance, Tom.

Old
Mon Feb 24, 2014, 11:24 AM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
Hi Tom,

There is a section on Bankroll Management in the Poker Basics course, which you can find HERE.

Hope this helps.

Joss

2 Time Bracelet Winner

Old
Mon Feb 24, 2014, 11:41 AM
(#3)
BronzeStar
So this article suggests that i should continue playing at these current stakes, as $1.50 is less than 10% of $1.60. However if my bankroll drops to say $10, i should consider at this point dropping to any stake below $1, is this what the lesson suggests?

Thanks.

Last edited by Parkyboy94; Mon Feb 24, 2014 at 11:46 AM..

Old
Mon Feb 24, 2014, 12:06 PM
(#4)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Hi Parkyboy94!

For tournaments, the general rule (which I do use too) is that I need to have 100 buy-ins in my bankroll before playing a given level of tournament. Therefore, to play $1.50 tourneys, I need to have $150 in my bankroll.

Hope this helps and good luck at the tables.

John (JWK24)

Super-Moderator

6 Time Bracelet Winner

Old
Mon Feb 24, 2014, 01:01 PM
(#5)
BronzeStar
Hi John thanks for your reply! so my low sum of $16 means i should be entering $0.10 tournaments? :p i can't afford to deposit $100 etc as my current occupation doesn't allow so, so $16 is about as much as i can afford at any given time.

Old
Mon Feb 24, 2014, 04:30 PM
(#6)
Since: Jun 2013
Hey,

Quote: