Cannot fold KK Preflop (MajorLeak?) - Wed Feb 26, 2014, 06:15 PM
(#1)
Since: Feb 2014
BronzeStar
Iv heard it a million times -

"You never fold KK preflop"
"If you even think about folding KK pre your a fish"
"The only way Im folding KK pre is if he shows me the aces"

Iv heard this is so many times and its exactly what I say to myself in my head when I have KK - I just got brainwashed to play this way and now Im starting to think this is wrong.

I only play 25NL 6MAX ZOOM and Im a 4BB/100 player

Im fairly new at the 25NL so I don't have all the stats on alot of the players yet(Poker Tracker)
so I cant tell whos a Nit or a Maniac,a reg or a casual.

The last 8 Times I got KK preflop 5 of them were against aces. thats 125$ down the trash.
The KK are the only cards I loose this much money with this just unbelievable.

I want a good explanation why I shouldn't fold KK's preflop to a 5bet 25NL 6max zoom.

Do you ever fold KK preflop?
Is taking the chance that he has QQ or AK really worth my 25$ everytime? Maybe I should just fold to a 5bet and take the risk away and get more profitable.

Old
Wed Feb 26, 2014, 06:40 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2012
http://www.pokerschoolonline.com/art...g-Kings-Part-1
http://www.pokerschoolonline.com/art...g-Kings-Part-2

I don't think it is a major leak, we are talking about the second best starting hand in NLHE, the only time you should fold it pre-flop is if you can put an opponent on AA, or the chances that he/she has AA is extremely high.

The links I posted above are to a training session provided by Tyler Frost, Team Online Pro, and he explains that yes, sometimes, it makes sense to fold KK pre-flop.

Old
Thu Feb 27, 2014, 06:36 AM
(#3)
Since: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airburn76 View Post
I want a good explanation why I shouldn't fold KK's preflop to a 5bet 25NL 6max zoom.
Because many players will be stacking off QQ+/AK (or worse), and your KK has 57% equity versus that range.