Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Long-Term Variance or Bad at Poker?

Old
Long-Term Variance or Bad at Poker? - Sun Mar 02, 2014, 12:17 PM
(#1)
Since: Jan 2014
I'm fairly new to PSO, though I've been playing poker for a while online, usually just for fun.

But last summer, I deposited around $50 at a poker site, qualifying for a bonus of the same, released in increments. I decided to play 50/50 STT's after figuring that would be the best way to clear the bonus the fastest, but also build my bankroll.

I played slowly and over the course of about 5 months, everything was going well. With about $35 of bonus payments as well as winning, I reached a high of about $220 in my account, and all seemed well.

Until February started. For 5 weeks now, it seems like nothing has been going right. Of course I've still made the money in some tourneys, but for the most part I've fallen off a cliff. Tourney after tourney, I seem to lose far more hands than I should when I am the favorite, and rarely catch a break and win an underdog hand. Despite releasing a few more bonus payments, my bankroll has fallen to $135.

Luckily, I have been following proper bankroll management so that I've only lost that much, and not everything.

What I want to ask is: Is it really possible to experience variance for this long, or was my initial play simply 'good luck' and I'm simply not very good?

Or, could there be a third possibility, such as I'm losing too much from tourney fees, or my opponents have figured me out and I'm too predictable?

Just looking for some guidance from those with more experience about whether to ride this out, switch to a different game, change tactics, or just take the money I have and simply walk away.

Thanks for any responses

Last edited by Starwrangler; Sun Mar 02, 2014 at 12:18 PM.. Reason: fix typo

Old
Sun Mar 02, 2014, 12:37 PM
(#2)
Since: Feb 2011
Hi Star,