Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

NL FR / QJd rushed hand

Old
NL FR / QJd rushed hand - Thu Mar 13, 2014, 02:13 PM
(#1)
Since: Mar 2014
BronzeStar
I'm still going through the basics, but I was just wondering, did I really play this out very badly? I'm very new to learning poker, regardless of how long I actually have been playing.
This was in the 100k freeroll

First hand in a tournament, and I felt I could really go aggressive here, I might have been out of position, a lot. But was this a very bad play, or did I just had a bad draw? In my opinion, I did try counting the outs and my odds of winning, and I made a rushed descision of playing it.

I'm still learning, and this is the best I could come up with to create a thread, maybe the next one will be more informative.

Old
Thu Mar 13, 2014, 03:46 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
Hi Magic Ponies!

On the very first hand, I have QJs in the hijack. Because of it being the first hand, I most likely have no idea how the players behind me are playing (aggressive or passive). Due to this (or if I know they are aggressive), I need to muck this preflop as my hand is nowhere near strong enough to call a raise with.

If I did raise, I would need to make a standard raise, which is to 3BB+1BB for each limper, to 60 chips.

I see a 4-way flop where I get a gutshot draw and an opp overbets the flop (a standard bet against 3 opps is 3/4 pot as post-flop bets should be sized based on the size of the pot, number of opps and board texture). I absolutely need to muck to this bet. I need to put 500 chips into a pot that will be 1436 (34.8%). I have 4 outs and from the rule of 4 and 2, each out is worth 2% to the turn, so my hand is only worth 8%. This means that everytime I put chips into the pot here, I expect to lose 26.8% of them on average... why I need to muck.