Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Challenges & Battleground & Member Blogs /

My Return to the Felt.

Old
My Return to the Felt. - Mon Apr 21, 2014, 04:54 PM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2010
I started playing this great game about six years ago. Two years later I had turned a 5 dollar freebie into two grand. That being said, I had a rather bad 300 dollar downturn and decided that even though I had success, that didn't mean I was "good" at poker.

I took my profit and left the poker scene until very recently. I have come back with a very different outlook on poker compared to back then.

I only have one goal as of right now. That is to make as many correct decisions as possible. I know there will be bad beats and other stuff.

I actually started back playing a month ago with $90, trying to figure things out as I am playing and trying to avoid the same mistakes I made in the past. I had dropped to 70 and knew that although there were some cases I didn't play well, there were some brutal bad beats as well.

Saturday night however, some of my hard work started to pay off.......

PokerStars Tournament #898451959, No Limit Hold'em
Buy-In: $0.91/$0.09 USD
180 players
Total Prize Pool: $163.80 USD
Tournament started 2014/04/19 20:14:21 ET

Dear MRSWAT,

You finished the tournament in 3rd place. A USD 18.67 award has been credited to your Real Money account.

It obviously wasn't a win, but definitely a confidence boost.
It also put me back to the 90 dollars I started with. We will see how things go from here.

Old
Mon Apr 21, 2014, 05:33 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Super-Moderator)
BronzeStar
One thing that you will want to look into is bankroll management. To play a given level of tourneys, I need to have 100 buy-ins for it in my bankroll. If I play them with less, I'm always running the risk of busting my roll... something that I want to avoid.

John (JWK24)

Super-Moderator

6 Time Bracelet Winner

Old
Tue May 13, 2014, 11:00 PM
(#3)