Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

5nl - My biggest thrashing to date!

Old
5nl - My biggest thrashing to date! - Wed Apr 30, 2014, 08:21 AM
(#1)
Since: Apr 2013
Hi guys,

Just thought I would share this with you guys - as it really does make me feel better.

This is my biggest downswing to date. I will also post the biggest pots that I have lost, and maybe you guys could tell me if this really is a downswing, or not.

Well please see below my 5nl graph below, with the thrashing that has occurred highlighted within the red circle.

Because of the downswing?? I was running at 5bb/100 and ow running at 3bb/100

This downswing represents a 6 ($5) buy-in loss - probably not much compared to some people; however, since I am new to 5nl, seeing my bankroll drop this much ($30) doesn't feel great - when you are not used to it.

Here below are some of the hands that has caused this to happen. Some bad beats (I think) and some coolers/bad luck (I think). Other contributions are from the red line.

Hand 1

With this hand, I could 3bet this preflop (dependent on reads). I hit a set and re-raise is in order given my hand strength, board texture, and stuff. bad beat given that I was ahead.

Hand 2

This AK is not a bad beat because I was always behind. When villain calls my preflop raise, and then an A comes out on the flop, I am not expecting to see him hold AA!

Hand 3

Not sure with this hand. With the holding that I had on this flop I couldn't put him on a set or a straight draw, so I thought I was good here. The mistake I might have made was not to re-raise on the flop. villain got there in the end with only having 5 outs.

There is also a ton of AK hands where I have 3bet preflop and got called by villains, cbet the flop when missed, and villains didn't want to fold.