Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

10NL Zoom: Folding QQ Pre-flop

Old
10NL Zoom: Folding QQ Pre-flop - Thu May 22, 2014, 02:39 PM
(#1)
Since: Jul 2011
This is the very first hand that I have played against either of these villains, so there are no reads. I am new to 10NL, and find that I get 3bet too often - usually from the SB or BTN. I find it difficult to gauge whether or not the villain is getting out of line. Several times I have folded good hands pre-flop, and watched hands like ATo and 98s get it in as if I was back down at 2NL.

Sorry about posting the result, I hope it does not spoil the discussion.

When the villain, who originally opened, 5bet shoves, can we expect to see AA KK here a reasonable amount of the time? Even so, is QQ too strong to fold pre-flop? I think I would have flatted the 4bet from the blinds.

Old
Thu May 22, 2014, 02:56 PM
(#2)
Since: Apr 2010
I think without any info and new to the limit you just have to observe stack offs and generally play your own stack off ranges from the previous limit.

I think villain 1 always has aces/kings here, and s.b has some ak along with aces and kings.

Definitely not too strong to fold pre flop, pretty standard fold in this spot.

If the original raiser folds i would suggest folding against an unknown. Once you have a decent sample or have some valid info to suggest s.b can have some cold 4bet bluffs flatting/ jamming is ok. But stacking off against a probable range of KK+/AKo/AKs isnt good as we only have 40% equity. In fact if you're unknown to s.b he may even fold ak combos in this spot and have a stack off range of only KK+.

Old
Thu May 22, 2014, 02:59 PM
(#3)
Since: Jun 2012
I think this is one of the occasions when I am snap folding QQ pre-flop. Against a cold 4bet and a 5bet shove the very best we are hoping for is that they are playing hands like JJ and AK like this (Readless) so I am very very comfortable folding here.

Old
Fri May 23, 2014, 03:00 AM