Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Tournament Section (MTTs & STTs) /

$2.20NLHE(1R1A) Bet sizing for optimal play?

Old
$2.20NLHE(1R1A) Bet sizing for optimal play? - Sat Jun 28, 2014, 03:22 AM
(#1)
Since: Oct 2013
Hi guys,this is my first attempt at this so hope it works.... I don't know if this is how I should insert the hand replayer or not.....

I don't remember having any reads on the villains and I dont use a HUD.I thought i played this hand OK but not optimally,I basically just got lucky except not getting called on the river I felt fine trying to set mine with my stack size.Should I have raised the flop? I didn't want to chase off action.What should I have done on the turn? I was afraid of the possible straight.And I really didn't know what else to do except check/raise the river,when I replay it I guess that may have worked but I didn't think so at the time for some reason....Any thoughts/suggestions and reasoning would be very much appreciated,cheers,Sulon.

Old
Sat Jun 28, 2014, 02:16 PM
(#2)
Since: Jun 2010
(Head Trainer)
Hi Sulon,

I think you played this hand fine. Preflop call to set mine is certainly good. I also think the flop call is perfect... when the SB donks into the field on this flop texture he probably has a jack quite often, so calling is nice to not tip off your hand strength to the preflop raiser and give them a chance to raise you both with their QQ+. When they just call, may not be that strong, so dropping the hammer on the turn is fine. There are a number of scary river cards that might slow down action (7,8,T,spades) so waiting until the river seems to have little upside and more downside.