Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

Questions about Pot Odds and Expected Value

Old
Question
Questions about Pot Odds and Expected Value - Tue Aug 05, 2014, 06:40 PM
(#1)
Since: Aug 2014
I'm currently studying the Cash Game course from PSO, but the article about Pot Odds and Expected Value left me with some doubts.

At some point, there's this:
Quote:
In that lesson, we calculated your odds of winning a hand in a percentage, but it can also be displayed as a ratio between winning and losing. A 20% winning probability can be translated as 4:1 odds - you will lose four in five times.
Which is right, as far as I understand.

But then, later on, they say:
Quote:
According to the chart above, your odds are 4:1 to hit your flush draw. The pot odds are higher. You should therefore call.

You can see why this call is correct by looking at the long-term picture. If you make this call four times, mathematics says that you will hit your draw once. That means you will win $5 for every $4 (4 * $1) you invest. That is good business.
Is this correct? Don't you actually have to make the call five times to hit a draw once, statistically speaking?

The same doubt is even worsened after they state this at some point:
Quote:
However, according to the table the odds of winning the hand are 11:1. You don't have the right pot odds to call here and should therefore fold.

Again, a glance at the long-term picture reveals why this is so. In this instance, you would need to play ten times in order to win $30. But those ten calls would cost you $50 ($5 * 10) and so this is not profitable.
In my mind the correct would be that you need to play twelve, not ten, times to win once.

So, am I misunderstanding something simple or there's a little mistake there in the article? Thanks in advance!

Old
Tue Aug 05, 2014, 07:36 PM
(#2)
Since: May 2011
Hi Glevcov,