Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Basic Mathematics

Old
Basic Mathematics - Mon Sep 08, 2014, 05:53 AM
(#1)
Since: Mar 2012
Goodday all,

1. does the pre flop stats of 16.83% for pair of deuces indicates the probability of winning until the river i.e. flopping minimum a set of 2 by the river or at flop?

2. does flop stats of 8.38% for pair of deuces indicates the probability of winning until the river or just the turn?

Thank you

Old
Mon Sep 08, 2014, 06:03 AM
(#2)
Since: Dec 2011
hi there, they are "at the moment" figures, i.e. your chances of winning the hand would increase if the Turn was a deuce, and the River one too!!!!!

Good Luck and its not a silly question!

Old
Mon Sep 08, 2014, 06:23 AM
(#3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeaselBasher View Post
hi there, it is "at the moment", i.e. your chances of winning the hand would increase if the Turn was a deuce, and the River one too!!!!!
Thanks for your reply I am a beginner and thanks for your patience.

1. meaning it is the probability of winning by the river isn't?

2. let say i decided to chase my 2 outer in a heads up with 100bb pre flop for both of us. he OR 3BB pre flop and i called. i miss the 2 outer at flop, and he bets half pot, and i called. i miss the turn too and he bets half pot again of which i called. At the river, i have already invested 3BB pre flop + 3BB flop + 6BB turn = 12BB. Let say i hit my set at the river, how much minimum should i bet so that i am not -EV long run under such situation? 0 EV is fine because we can get VIP points i.e. i am asking the minimum bet so that i am breaking even.

Or put in another perspective, what is the maximum BB that i can put in by the river so that i can still break even?