Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

How long does it take to be a good LAG player?

Old
How long does it take to be a good LAG player? - Tue Sep 09, 2014, 08:36 PM
(#1)
Since: Dec 2012
BronzeStar
How long should a player practice playing LAG style of poker before they use it on a regular basis?

***Moved to Poker Education Section***

Last edited by royalraise85; Wed Sep 10, 2014 at 07:14 AM..

Old
Tue Sep 09, 2014, 10:12 PM
(#2)
Since: Oct 2011
This is kind of a strange question, in my opinion. Good players don't aim to play a "style". They aim to take the most +EV decision on every hand they are dealt.
If you really must use labels for playing styles, then - generally speaking - players go through 4 stages on the way to "crushing" the game.
1. Loose passive. (fish)
2. Tight passive. (nit)
3. Tight aggressive. (TAG)
4. Loose aggressive. (LAG)

I've been playing semi-seriously (and winning) for 3 years and I'm still only occasionally adopting what most people would call a "LAG" style. In the micros especially, playing tight aggressive works well enough. I typically only use more aggressive plays when the situation calls for it, such as when I know a villain folds too often to tripe barrels or check-raises. In short, I don't practice a "LAG style" or use it on a regular basis. I just increase my betting/raising/bluffing frequencies when I think it is profitable to do so. Much of the time, a less aggressive style works just as well, and it also reduces variance!

Bracelet Winner

Old
Wed Sep 10, 2014, 06:55 AM
(#3)
Since: Jan 2014
BronzeStar
more than 6 months

Old
Wed Sep 10, 2014, 07:42 AM
(#4)
Since: Jun 2010
Hi ThriftyBunny,

Welcome to PokerSchoolOnline!

Here is a link to help familiarize you with all the features and services available at PSO. Feel free to look around the forum and post any of your comments or questions.